Summer Reading – Understanding & Defying Stereotypes

Summer is dancing just around the corner.    I have 3 1/2 hours left of this academic year.    Somehow, it seems too much and not nearly enough all at the same time.  I feel this way every year.   I am tired and in need of rest but will miss seeing these kids every day.

As I contemplate the luxury of a swath of unscheduled time for the first time in six years, I have a long list of things I want to do.   High on that list is catching up on some reading.   Two of the books I really want to tackle this summer are Whistling Vivaldi and Lab Girl.

41GM+SknvjL._AC_US160_

 

Whistling Vivaldi explores how stereotypes affect us and what we can do.   I am hoping I will gain insights that will help me better understand myself and my students.

41QVmFj2U9L._SX333_BO1,204,203,200_

 

 

 

Lab Girl is a memoir about a female scientist.   I am hoping for a nice diversion and perhaps a book that I can share with my students to break some of those stereotypes.

 

Leave a Reply

