A Day in the Life….

My youngest daughter and my husband have spent the last four days driving across the country.   She is moving into her new apartment tonight as she gets ready to start a doctorate in physical therapy.   For the 10th time, I have not been able to go and help one of my children settle into a new home far away from home as they headed off to college or graduate school.

I work in a place in which my evaluation is partially based on my students’ growth on standardized tests, partially based on observations of my work, partially based on documentation I submit regarding my professional practice, and partially based on my attendance.   I lose points on my evaluation for every absence that I take.   My children know this and understand.

Today, I miss being an engineer.  .

Leave a Reply

