Complementary and Supplementary Angles Foldable

As the second part of my lesson on angles, I had my students complete an advance organizer/foldabel on complementary angles, and supplementary angles.   This is a follow-up to the introduction of the idea of adjacent and vertical angles.   As I said in the previous post, I decided to use this as an opportunity to also review solving two-step equations (something they learned last year but that may have suffered from the summer slide a little bit).   By incorporating ratios in the description of the angle relationship and unknown angle sides, I can embed a little additional practice with ratios, writing equations, and solving equations.

I considered putting all four concepts into a single foldable, but felt like I was pushing the bounds of how much information would fit in a single foldable.    I’m not sure how this is going to go, so I may end up re-doing the whole thing for next year.    Since this is the second of two related foldables, I embedded some of the ideas from the adjacent angle/vertical angle foldable into this one as well.   I wanted to show students that these concepts are all related.

You can download the Complementary and Supplementary Angles foldable by clicking on the text.

 

Leave a Reply

