Be Kind and Be Brave

At the start of each day, one of my friends tells her little boy, “Be kind and be brave” as he heads off to preschool.   I find it the perfect distillation of what I want for my children and what I want for my students.

Be kind.   What more is there to say here?  Just be kind.

Be brave.   Be brave enough to not be perfect so that you can learn and grow.   Be brave enough to try new things and new ways of doing things.   Be brave enough to persevere when things get tough.   Be brave enough to ask for help when you need it.   Be brave enough to offer help when someone else needs it.   Be brave enough to seek out an adult when someone needs more help than you can give.    Be brave enough to befriend someone who needs a friend.   Be brave enough to stand up for someone else when they need it.   Be brave enough to do the right thing instead of the easy thing.  Be brave enough to be different.   Be brave enough to be your very best self.   Be brave.

“Be kind and be brave.”   I think this is going to be my new way to send my students out into the rest of the world each day.

One thought on “Be Kind and Be Brave

Leave a Reply

